CALL 0044 20 7118 0122

2018/19 Bank Holiday Dates And Your Legal Obligations

To remind you of important dates coming up. Firstly, this year’s remaining Bank holidays for England and Wales as well as those for 2019 and some notes on how you can react as an employer.

2018

England and Wales

Summer Bank Holiday         Monday 27 August

Christmas Day                       Tuesday 25 December

Boxing Day                            Wednesday 26 December

Scotland

Summer Bank Holiday         Monday 6 August

St Andrew’s Day                   Friday 30 November

Christmas Day                       Tuesday 25 December

Boxing Day                            Wednesday 26 December

Northern Ireland

August Bank Holiday            Monday 27 August

2019

New Year’s Day  – Tuesday 1st January

Good Friday – Friday 19th April

Easter Monday  – Monday 22nd April

Early May Bank Holiday – Monday 6th May

Spring Bank Holiday  – Monday 27th May

Summer Bank Holiday – Monday 26th August

Christmas Day – Wednesday 25th December

Boxing Day – Thursday 26th December

As an employer you do not have to give paid leave on Bank or Public Holidays. You can choose to include bank holidays as part of a worker’s statutory annual leave.

If a bank holiday is on a weekend, a ‘substitute’ weekday becomes a bank holiday, normally the following Monday. Almost all workers are legally entitled

to 5.6 weeks’ paid holiday per year (known as statutory leave entitlement or annual leave). An employer can include bank holidays as part of statutory annual leave.

Working 5 days a week

Most workers who work a 5-day week must receive at least 28 days paid annual leave per year. This is the equivalent of 5.6 weeks of holiday.

Working part-time

Part-time workers get less paid holiday than full-time workers. They’re entitled to at least 5.6 weeks of paid holiday but this amounts to fewer than 28 days because they work fewer hours per week.

The Graham Agency, keeping you informed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recent News

News Archives