Bank Holidays 2020 and 2021 – England And Wales With Changes For Scotland

Bank Holidays 2020 and 2021 – England And Wales With Changes For Scotland

2020

Friday 25th December – Christmas Day

Monday 28th December – Boxing Day

The big change in Christmas holidays this year is that they effectively become a long four day weekend break. The reason is that when Christmas falls on a Friday,  a ‘substitute’ weekday becomes the bank holiday. So, this year the Boxing Day bank holiday will be moved from Saturday 26th December to Monday 28th December.

2021

Here are the bank holidays for England with the additional days and changes for Scotland and Wales.

Again, there is a difference in the Christmas holiday in 2021 for the same reason, with Christmas falling on a Saturday, the Bank Holiday is moved to a substitute day, and falls on the 27th December. Boxing Day Holiday is then moved to its substitute Day and falls on December 28th.

New Year’s Day                               Friday, Jan 1 2021

Good Friday                                     Friday, April 2 2021

Easter Monday                                Monday, April 5 2021

Early May Bank holiday                Monday, May 3 2021

Spring Bank Holiday                     Monday, May 31 2021

Christmas Day Holiday                 Monday, Dec 27 2021

Boxing Day Holiday                      Tuesday Dec 28 2021

 

Scotland

Scotland has a bank holiday on Thursday 2nd January and there is no Easter Monday bank holiday. The Summer bank holiday is on Monday 3rd August instead of Monday 31st August, and those living in Scotland get an extra bank holiday on Monday 30th November to mark St Andrew’s Day.

 

The Graham Agency, working with you.